• The constituent assembly was formed in 1946 under the scheme formulated by Cabinet Mission Plans.
  • The total strength of the Assembly was 389
  • out of 392 these 296 were elected to represent the British India and 93 seats to the Princely States. Out of 296 members, 292 members were to be elected by the provincial legislatures while 4 members were to represent the Chief Commissioner’s provinces. 93 members were to be nominated by rulers of the Princely States.
  • The Constituent Assembly, held its first meeting on December 9,1946.
  • It took 2 years, 11 months and 18 days to finalise the constitution.
  • Advertisement
  • The temporary President of the constituent Assembly was Dr. Sachidanand Sinha.
  • The first permanent  president of the Constituent Assembly was Dr. Rajendra Prasad.
  • B N Rau was appointed as the constitutional advisor of the assembly.
  • The Objective resolution was moved by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.
  • On 26th November 1949 the constitution was declared as passed.
  • The constitution was comes in force on 26 January 1950.
  •   The Chairman of Drafting Committee was Dr. B R Ambedkar.
  • Initially constitution consist of 395 Articles, 18 Parts, 8 Schedules.
  • Current form of Constitution consist of 444 Articles, 22 Parts, 12 Schedules.
  • The Preamble was formed by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!
Open chat